The Smashing Pumpkins Confirm "Oceania" Release Date

After a five year hiatus and a more than eight month delay, the Smashing Pumpkins will release their new album this summer. The Smashing Pumpkins Confirm "Oceania" Release Date

Smashing Pumpkins frontman, Billy Corgan, has announced that the five year wait is over – their ninth studio album, Oceania, will be released on June 19, 2012 after being pushed back from its original launch date of September 1, 2011. 

The actual mixing of the album was completed on September 18, 2011 and Corgan describes it as being the group’s “best effort since Mellon Collie” which is saying a lot.  The 1995 album, Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness, was a huge success producing hits like “Bullet with Butterfly Wings,” “Tonight” and “1979.”  If Oceania is anywhere near as good, the Pumpkins will be on the fast-track to a full-fledged comeback. 

Of the creative process, guitarist, James Iha, said: “The big change is that Billy is not being the big 'I do this-I do that'. It's much better. The band arranged a lot of songs for this record, and the song writing process was organic. The circumstances of the last record and the way that we worked was really bad.”

Undoubtedly, fans are eagerly awaiting the new music.  Here’s a look at the tracklisting:

  1. "Quasar/Stella Polaris and the People Mover"     
  2. "Panopticon"      
  3. "The Celestials"                 
  4. "Violet Rays"       
  5. "My Love Is Winter"        
  6. "One Diamond, One Heart"          
  7. "Pinwheels"        
  8. "Oceania"             
  9. "Pale Horse"       
  10. "The Chimera"                   
  11. "Glissandra"        
  12. "Inkless"               
  13. "Wildflower"  

Written on Mar 27 2012 by Jeanne Dupuis (Google+ profile), writer at KOvideo. Tags: the smashing pumpkins


Be the first to comment and win valuable reputation points!

Leave a Reply Login/Register