Robyn and Royksopp Announce ‘Mini Album’ For Release Later This Year

Robyn and producer duo Royksopp announced a mini-album for release in May and previewed new track “Monument.” Robyn and Royksopp Announce ‘Mini Album’ For Release Later This Year

Robyn and production duo Royksopp’s paths have crossed before, including collaborating on 2009 single “The Girl and the Robot” and on Body Talk track “None of Dem.” Now the two acts plan to put out a mini-album together in May, according to a recent statement.

But rather than be producers featuring a pop star, the project is a true collaboration, they claim. The producers said: "This doesn't sound like Röyksopp featuring Robyn, or Robyn produced by Röyksopp – it's just something else entirely."

The first single drops at the end of April and has been described as an “accidental pop song” and a “rave-inspired throwback” with “big thumping house.” Although we’ll have to wait until then, a preview of track “Monument” came out on Monday.

According to Robyn, work on this release dates back to early 2013.

Robyn herself has a full-length album in the works to follow up 2010’s Body Talk, itself a series of three mini-albums that came out over the course of the year. After, a full-length version compiling the strongest cuts of all three came out. In the U.S., Body Talk Pts. 1 and 2 cracked the top 100 spots of the Billboard 200, while the full-length release peaked at No. 3 on the Dance/Electronic albums chart.

Hear the new single below:

Written on Apr 15 2014 by Irene Test (Google+ profile), writer at KOvideo. Tags: robyn royksopp


Be the first to comment and win valuable reputation points!

Leave a Reply Login/Register