La Roux Announces Sophomore Album After Five Years

La Roux announced a follow up to their 2009 self-titled debut album, with a release date in July. La Roux Announces Sophomore Album After Five Years

La Roux scored a few hits back in 2009 and 2010 with their debut album. But then, the duo of Elly Jackson and Ben Langmaid went on hiatus, and like the late ‘00s synthpop trend, their act seemed to be done.

Recently, Jackson hinted at new music on their Instagram account, and following that, an announcement came this week for their long-awaited sophomore album.

It has been five years since their self-titled debut appeared. This new release, with the minimal information out there, is called Trouble in Paradise and is scheduled to come out on July 8 through Cherrytree.

To lead into their sophomore release, La Roux put out a track called “Let Me Down.” Not an official single yet, the track retains the same qualities as their debut but moves at a somewhat slower pace.

As well, a North American tour is being put together, with dates now including Toronto and Brooklyn.

The tracklist for Trouble in Paradise includes:

1. Uptight Downtown

2. Kiss and Not Tell

3. Cruel Sexuality

4. Paradise Is You

5. Sexotheque

6. Tropical Chancer

7. Silent Partner

8. Let Me Down Gently

9. The Feeling

La Roux’s debut came out in 2009 and peaked at No. 2 on the U.K. Albums Chart. In the U.S., La Roux didn’t do too badly for an electronic album, peaking at No. 70 on the Billboard 200 chart. The album saw four singles released: “In For The Kill,” “I’m Not Your Toy,” “Quicksand,” and “Bulletproof.”

Written on May 13 2014 by Irene Test (Google+ profile), writer at KOvideo. Tags: la roux trouble in paradise


Be the first to comment and win valuable reputation points!

Leave a Reply Login/Register