Coldplay Perform Four New Tracks at SXSW iTunes Festival

According to reports, Coldplay debuted four new songs during their SXSW performance this week. Coldplay Perform Four New Tracks at SXSW iTunes Festival

Coldplay has been very selective in the information released about upcoming album Ghost Stories. Following 2011’s Mylo Xyloto, the release according to a recent Instagram update comes out on May 19 through Parlophone.

Beyond that, the only other piece of news claims the upcoming album harks back to their 2002 sound.

However, the band revealed more – as in, more music – this week at their performance during SXSW’s iTunes Festival.

According to reports, Coldplay performed four new tracks, titled “Always in My Head,” “Magic,” “Ghost Stories,” and “Another’s Arms.” They followed this with new single “Midnight.”

During the set, Chris Martin told the crowd: “We've been away a long time, and I can't think of a better way to come back into the world [than] in the intimate surroundings of Austin and just a couple of 100 people and the millions watching at home."

We expect the standard edition of Ghost Stories to have nine tracks; so far, based on this show, we know about what half of the release will sound like. So, what do you think so far? Does it beat its predecessor’s commercialized turn?

To hear a bit of this performance, check out the following clip from Fuse TV:

Written on Mar 13 2014 by Irene Test (Google+ profile), writer at KOvideo. Tags: coldplay


Be the first to comment and win valuable reputation points!

Leave a Reply Login/Register